IF Diary – Week 1

IF Day 1 – 10th March 2012

Woke up feeling tired because I had friends round until 12.30am and then I had to be up to take my little boy swimming.  I grabbed a cup of green tea before starting out with my run at 11am.  I ate my first meal at around midday (mackerel / spinach) followed up with a cup of coffee. I felt a little hungry at around 2pm, so had another drink of green tea.  I decided to make cottage pie for tea and filled a large pyrex dish with the intention of eating half and then saving the other half for later in the week.  I spooned half the cottage pie out onto a plate and thought, how the hell am I going to eat that!  It went down easier than I thought, but its now 9.30pm and I still don’t feel hungry, although I am thinking about tomorrows food already!  I had lots of green beans, broccoli, courgettes and washed it down with a cup of green tea.  I’ve been alternating BCAAs and EAAs throughout the day, but I have to be honest, I had to neck the EAA powder down with a glass of goats milk this evening.

W: 76.0 L: 60.2 F:15.8

IF Day 2 – 11th March 2012

Managed to get a lie-in this AM which is a rarity these days.  Went for a quick 2.5km run this AM, took exceed pre-run and EAAs post run.  EAA powder is rank, so I’ve taken to mixing it up with VitC tablets.  Can now tolerate it, and been sipping it throughout the day.  Beautiful day outside so decided to have lunch, then head out on the MTB for an hour (On-call today, so can’t stray too far from home).  Took BCAAs this afternoon and drank a few cups of green tea to keep me going.  Had some celery with peanut butter around 3pm and then had salmon with mash and green veg and couldn’t eat it all, but then there was quite a lot of it.  Been occasionally doing upper body work throughout the afternoon too and don’t feel that tired.  Been asked to work throughout the night until 8am.  Was reluctant at first, but then its paid OT and a day off + a day in lieu, so we’ll see how tomorrow goes….

W: 76.2 L: 61.1 F:15.1

IF Day 3 – 12th March 2012

Worked throughout the night so was a little concerned that I might derail a little bit.  Had a coffee around 3am to keep me going so don’t know fully what the effects of caffeine would have had, but it helped me to stay awake anyway!  Felt slightly delirious this AM so after getting the boys to school, I went to bed having first taken some ZMA to help me sleep.  Woke up feeling a little tired but that’s only to be expected having been awake for nearly 27 hours.  Had a mackerel lunch and some green tea then hits the supplements (Alpha Men, VitD, CLA & Omega3).  Feel slightly more human, so its time to have a steady run to see how things are.  Looking forward to the leftover cottage pie tonight, yum!

W: 76.1 L: 61.5 F:14.6

IF Day 4 – 13th March 2012

Gutted to be honest.  Having been up for 26.5 hours straight, I had made great progress over the weekend.  body fat was coming down quite quickly and I was full of energy.  The body can be quite complicated at times and I guess every day is a school day.  So I woke up tired, still reeling from the lack of sleep, but I went for a run regardless and my legs felt heavy.  I’ve also woke up hungry which is not something I was expecting.  Been on the green tea to suppress the appetite, but I can’t wait for dinner to normalise things.  The stats this morning have taken me back 48 hours, so I’m going to pick myself up and start again.  One thing’s for sure though, I’m hitting the sack early tonight to try and recover rest as much as possible.

W: 75.9, L: 60.4, F 15.5

IF Day 5 – 14th March 2012

Woke up feeling a little tired again but went running regardless, slightly off pace and my legs were heavy but I got round and the fresh air woke me up a bit.  My body is starting to accept the fact its not getting food in the AM, which I’m not really missing to be honest, but I do think I’m overcompensating with the portion sizes.  Had mackerel for lunch with 150g total yoghurt and 3 handfuls of nuts (overkill on the dairy!).  Had raw veg in the afternoon with more almonds before heading home for an hours session on the MTB in the dark!  Ribeye, sweet potato mash and veggies for tea, finished off with a banana…and an apple!

W: 76.0, L: 61.4, F 14.6

IF Day 6 – 15th March 2012

A lot has gone wrong today, turns out that doing 3 sessions in one day causes your CNS to dig its heels in.  Lost lots of Lean Mass despite training really hard yesterday, when I was expecting the opposite to happen.  Every day is a school day, so it’s back to basics. Today was also a rest day, and unfortunately I had to work from home, so I found myself grazing on food when I was actually thirsty.  I knew what I was doing, but I was feeling a bit despondent so baked up some protein muffins and ate the bloody lot! Tomorrow is pick yourself up day, motivate and FOCUS!

W: 75.8, L: 60.3, F15.5

IF Day 7 – 16th March 2012

So today I went for a 5km run in the AM which surprisingly I had a lot of energy but I took it steady as I felt I’d been overdoing it of late.  I also made sure that that my nutrition for the day was in check following yesterdays hiccup.  My evening meal lacked carbs but I made sure that there was an abundance of green veg, so much so that I overdid a little bit, but I love my green veg anyway, so went down quite nicely with a bit of organic sirloin.

Work is doing my head in, problems at work mean we are having to work around the clock, which is throwing a right spanner in the works when it comes to training, so I did some low level pushups and KB swings just to keep thing ticking over.  Did feel a pull in my left pectoral so going to monitor that over the coming days.

W: 76.7, L: 61.2, F: 15.5

Leave a Reply

